Board Of Management

Introduction and overview of the role of the Board of Management


Boards of Management of primary schools are appointed for a four year term. The term of office of the current Boards of Management is from the 1st December 2019 to 30th November 2023. The Patron of St. Mary’s Nationals school is the Archbishop of Dublin, Diarmuid Martin.

All Boards of management of primary schools are required to adhere to the provisions of the Governance Manual for Primary schools 2015-2019.

The Board should adopt a child –centred approach to all of its work. It must also have regard to the efficient use of resources (particularly the grants provided by the State), the public interest in the affairs of the school and accountability to students, parents and the community. The Board must also uphold the characteristic spirit (ethos) of the school and is accountable to the Patron for so doing.



The Board members are:

Chairperson (appointed by the Patron): Miriam Marron

Principal: Suzanne Olwill

Teacher: Ciarán Murphy

Parents Representatives: Darragh Lawlor, Sharon Redmond

Patrons Representative: Áine Dempsey

Community Representatives: Dermot Flanagan, Lynda Prendergast

All communications to the Board of Management should be in writing to: The Chairperson,

St. Mary’s National School, Garters Lane, Saggart.

Designed By